My First Attempt at Paint Removal

 

Painting a 26ft boat is no small task, and as any wooden boat owners out there will know, the thought of sanding it back to the bare wood every season or two is just too tedious to face sometimes. So I wasn’t completely surprised to find I was scraping off almost half centimetre thick flakes of paint from my hull (I use the word ‘flakes’ loosely here, as most of my ‘flakes’ were more than 2 inches across and impressive structurally sound).

I decided to start with the deck trim/toe rail as I want to take that back to the bare wood and varnish it. So far I have identified three entirely different colours in multiple layers. You can imagine my elation.

Needless to say, I gave up on my attempts to scrape and sand it back fairly quickly, and decided instead to turn to my more chemically based friends, paint strippers!

Below are images of the results I got using Owatarol’s Dilunett paint stripper, recently been re-released as Marine Strip, and I have to say, I was impressed. It liquefied the many, many layers of paint on the toe rails and with just a scraper (as I am currently lacking in electricity, so it is all elbow grease for now) I was able to get most of the trim back to bare wood!

Before 

IMG_0782

During

IMG_0785

Mid Removal

IMG_0792

After

IMG_0790

I won’t lie to you, this was still a slow and painstaking job, but at least I was seeing results. The bottle recommends using a pressure washer, which I did not have. But having seen how well the Dilunett liquefied the many, many layers of old paint, I can see how a pressure washer would make it a very quick and easy job.

I have a friend, who is skilled in removing paint with a gas torch, coming down next week to have a look and see can he help with the hull, because as impressive and effective the Dilunett was on the toe rails and trim, I’m not sure my arms and hands could take a whole 26ft hull of it without a pressure washer to rid it of the liquefied paint.

With sore arms and tired hands,

Evie

One thought on “My First Attempt at Paint Removal

Leave a Reply

